

## FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Missouri Courage Scholarship, Geneviève Steidtmann, President

Genevieve@Courage-Scholarship.org

314-610-2826

(St. Louis, Missouri – May 7, 2021) Missouri Courage Scholarship (MCS) is proud to announce the recipients of our 2021 scholarship awards. Each year, MCS awards scholarships to students who demonstrate courage and take a stand for social justice. MCS and our community partners – Pride St. Charles, GLSEN-Greater Kansas City, Tower Grove Pride, and Miss Gay City of Columbia – are awarding \$30,000 in scholarships to 24 outstanding high school seniors from across Missouri pursuing higher education this Fall. This year, in recognition of the devastating effect COVID-19 has had on Missouri and the world, MCS designated two scholarships as COVID Support Courage Awards for students pursuing study in medical or biological fields.

Since MCS was founded in 2015 we have awarded over \$130,000 to more than 120 Missouri students. This year we received 257 applications from high school seniors attending 131 different high schools across the state. "With the largest applicant pool to date, we are proud Missouri Courage Scholarship has become so well known by outstanding students who stand up for themselves and others. The 2021 class of Courage Scholars are young people who make a real difference in their schools and communities across Missouri," said Genevieve Steidtmann, Board President.

We are thrilled to share our 2021 Courage Scholars:

<b>Madison Alexander</b> Tower Grove Pride Courage Award, Incarnate Word Academy, Florissant	<b>Lily Benavides</b> , Missouri Courage Award, Blue Springs South High School, Blue Springs
Katie Byrd, Missouri Courage Award, Kearney High School, Kearney	<b>Chris Campos</b> , Pay It Forward Award, Ritenour High School, St. Louis
Annie Cantrell, Fortier Courage Award, Central High School, Springfield	<b>Lyle Chafa,</b> Trans Courage Award, Republic High School, Republic, MO
O'Kira Coleman, COVID Support Courage Award, Waynesville High School, Saint Robert	<b>Lucas Crow</b> , Rural Courage Award, Nixa High School, Nixa
<b>David Ellenberger</b> , Pay It Forward Award, Blue Springs High School, Blue Springs	Rolan Fitzgerald, Trans Courage Award, Smithville High School, Smithville
<b>Liv Hand</b> , COVID Support Courage Award, Whitfield School, St. Louis	<b>Farheen Khan</b> , Pay It Forward Award, Parkway Central, Creve Coeur
<b>Kaden Meyer</b> , Trans Courage Award, Washington High School, Washington	Jay Nahm, Rural Courage Award, Pacific High School, Pacific
<b>Julia</b> , Pay It Forward Award, Visitation Academy, St. Louis	<b>Anonymous</b> , Trans Courage Award, Mehlville Senior High School, St. Louis
<b>Max Ntalamu</b> , Pay It Forward Award, Jefferson City, High School, Jefferson City	Jude Patenaude, GLSEN-Kansas City Courage Award, St. Teresa's Academy, Kansas City
<b>Sebatian Pike</b> , Miss Gay City of Columbia Courage Award, Jefferson City High School, Jefferson City	<b>Sami</b> , Pride St. Charles Courage Award, Francis Howell Central, Saint Peters
Jake Stewart, Rural Courage Award, Kennett High School, Kennett	<b>Max</b> , Trans Courage Award, Acellus Academy, Saint Joseph
Elias Strebe Rural Courage Founder's Award, Salem High School, Salem (second year)	<b>Kaylyn Walker</b> , Rural Courage Award, Hermann High School, Hermann

MCS awards multiple types of scholarships:

**The Missouri Courage Award (MCA)** is awarded to high school seniors in Missouri who have demonstrated their commitment to work for change in their community that advances the lives of LGBTQ people or furthers other social justice causes.

**The Rural Courage Award (RCA)** is intended for students residing in rural Missouri communities who meet the MCA scholarship qualifications.

**The Trans Courage Award (TCA)** is intended for Missouri students who identify as transgender and who meet the MCA scholarship qualifications.

**Founder's Award** is a two-year award given to winners from Dent County at the discretion of Jacob Wilson, our Founder, who started the organization to help LGBTQ students from that county.

**Fortier Courage Award (FCA)** is a special award in honor of Shirley Fortier and is for students who intend to major in education.

Pay it Forward Award (PIF) is a personalized award for student athletes with an interest in political science, pre-law or related subjects.

**Covid Courage Award (CCA)** is a special limited-time award for students with the intention of majoring in biological, medical, or health areas.

**Community Partnership Awards** are scholarships awarded to students through partnership with community organizations. In 2021 MCS partnered with Pride St. Charles, GLSEN Greater Kansas City, Tower Grove Pride, and Miss Gay City of Columbia to award scholarships.

Missouri Courage Scholarship is the largest state-wide LGBTQ scholarship organization in Missouri. MCS is a 501c3 organization; all donations are tax deductible. Please visit our website at <a href="https://www.courage-scholarship.org">www.courage-scholarship.org</a> for more information.

See attached flyer for more information on this year's Courage Scholars.

## THE 2021 CLASS OF MISSOURI COURAGE SCHOLARS



Farheen Khan
Pay It Forward Award
Creve Coeur



Kaylyn Walker Rural Courage Award Hermann



O'Kira Coleman COVID Support Courage Award Saint Robert



**Jay Nahm** Rural Courage Award Pacific



Chris Campos
Pay It Forward Award
St. Louis



Katie Byrd Missouri Courage Award Kearney



Annie Cantrell Fortier Courage Award Springfield



Madison Alexander Tower Grove Pride Award Florissant



**Max** Trans Courage Award St. Joseph



**Max Ntalamu** Pay It Forward Award Jefferson City



David Ellenberger
Pay It Forward Award
Blue Springs



Rolan Fitzgerald
Trans Courage Award
Smithville



**Lily Benavides** Missouri Courage Award Blue Springs



Jude Patenaude GLSEN-KC Courage Award Kansas City



Sebastian Pike Miss Gay City of Columbia Courage Award, Jefferson City



Jake Stewart Rural Courage Award Kennett



Kaden Meyer Trans Courage Award Washington



Liv Hand COVID Support Courage Award St. Louis



Lucas Crow
Rural Courage Award
Nixa



Anonymous
Trans Courage Award
St. Louis



Sami Pride St. Charle Award Saint Peters



**Julia** Pay It Forward Award St. Louis



Elias Strebe Founder's Courage Award Salem



Trans Courage Award Republic

Missouri Courage Scholarship is a 501c3 non-profit organization, all donations are tax deductible.

