

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE Contact: Missouri Courage Scholarship, Geneviève Steidtmann, President <u>Genevieve@Courage-Scholarship.org</u> 314-610-2826

(St. Louis, Missouri – May 11, 2020) Missouri Courage Scholarship (MCS) is proud to announce the recipients of our 2020 scholarship awards. Each year, MCS awards scholarships to students who demonstrate courage and take a stand for social justice. MCS and our community partners – Pride St. Charles, GLSEN-Greater Kansas City, and Tower Grove Pride – are awarding \$25,000 in scholarships to 24 outstanding high school seniors from across Missouri pursuing higher education this Fall.

Since MCS was founded in 2015 we have awarded over \$100,000 to more than 90 Missouri students. This year we received 207 applications from high school seniors in 93 different cities and towns across the state. "We are proud Missouri Courage Scholarship is known throughout the state and we have so many amazing young people competing for these awards each year. The 2020 class of Courage Scholars are truly stand out students and courageous leaders who make a difference in their schools and communities across Missouri," said Genevieve Steidtmann, Board President.

We are thrilled to share our 2020 Courage Scholars:

<b>Elias Strebe</b> Rural Courage Founder's Award, Salem High School, Salem (first year)	<b>Alexander Paul</b> , Missouri Courage Award, Lutheran High School North, St. Louis, MO
<b>Garrett Nichting</b> , Rural Courage Award, Kirksville Senior High School, Greentop, MO	<b>Requested Anonymity</b> , Rural Courage Award, Blair Oaks High School, Jefferson City, MO
Lyle Chafa, Trans Courage Award, Republic High School, Republic, MO	<b>Cameron Massieon</b> , GLSEN-KC Courage Award, Park Hill High School, Kansas City, MO
<b>Jaycob Hayes</b> , Trans Courage Award, Staley High School, Kansas City, MO	<b>Rachel Ruddy</b> , Tower Grove Pride Courage Award, Villa Duchesne, St. Louis City, MO
<b>Cole Hammett</b> , Rural Courage Award, Southern Boone High School, Ashland, MO	<b>Daniel</b> , Missouri Courage Award, St. Louis University High School, High Ridge, MO
<b>Brandon</b> , St. Charles Pride Courage Award, Winfiled High School, Foley, MO	<b>Kyla Warman</b> , Missouri Courage Award, Kearney High School, Kearney, MO
Hayden Ashley, Rural Courage Award, Central R-III High School, Park Hills, MO	<b>Mason Tucker</b> , Missouri Courage Award, Festus Senior High School, Festus, MO
<b>Octavian Stickann</b> , Trans Courage Award, Jefferson City High School, Jefferson City, MO	<b>Teague McElroy</b> , Missouri Courage Award, Kickapoo High School, Springfield, MO
<b>Rhys Timpe</b> , St. Charles Pride Courage Award, Timberland High School, Lake Saint Louis, MO	<b>Alyssa Farrar</b> , St. Charles Pride Courage Award, Troy Buchanan High School, Troy, MO
<b>Benjamin Haug</b> , Missouri Courage Award, Brentwood High School, Brentwood, MO	<b>Taylor Baker</b> , Rural Courage Award, Jefferson City High School, Jefferson City, MO
<b>Gabriella Miesner</b> , Missouri Courage Award, Cor Jesu Academy, St. Louis, MO	<b>Nathan</b> , Missouri Courage Award, Van Horn High School, Independence, MO
<b>Ty Bushnell</b> , Rural Courage Award, Kirksville High School, Kirksville, MO	<b>Jake Stotler</b> , Rural Courage Founder's Award, Salem High School, Salem (second year)

MCS awards multiple types of scholarships:

**The Missouri Courage Award (MCA)** is awarded to high school seniors in Missouri who have demonstrated their commitment to work for change in their community that advances the lives of LGBTQ people or furthers other social justice causes.

**The Rural Courage Award (RCA)** is intended for students residing in rural Missouri communities who meet the MCA scholarship qualifications.

**The Trans Courage Award (TCA)** is intended for Missouri students who identify as transgender and who meet the MCA scholarship qualifications.

**Founder's Award** is a two-year award given to winners from Dent County at the discretion of Jacob Wilson, our Founder, who started the organization to help LGBTQ students from that county.

**Community Partnership Awards** are scholarships awarded to students through partnership with community organizations. In 2020 MCS partnered with Pride St. Charles, GLSEN Greater Kansas City and Tower Grove Pride to award scholarships.

Missouri Courage Scholarship is the largest state-wide LGBTQ scholarship organization in Missouri. MCS is a 501c3 organization; all donations are tax deductible. Please visit our website at <u>www.courage-scholarship.org</u> for more information.

###

## 2020 COURAGE SCHOLARS



Cameron Massieon Kansas Citv **GLSEN-KC** Courage Award



Elias Strebe Salem **Rural Courage Award** (Founder's Award)



Alexander Paul St. Louis Missouri Courage Award



Octavian Stickann Jefferson City Trans Courage Award



Hayden Ashley Park Hills **Rural Courage Award** 



**Garrett Nichting** Greentop Rural Courage Award



Mason Tucker Festus Missouri Courage Award



Nathan Independence Missouri Courage Award



Daniel High Ridge Missouri Courage Award



**Taylor Baker** Jefferson City Rural Courage Award

Our mission is to acknowledge, affirm, and reward students who demonstrate courage and take a stand for social justice.

> Tissouri Courage Award 🛧 Trans Courage Award 😭 Rural Courage Award

ride St. Charles Courage Award

CLSEN-Greater KC Courage Award

Tower Grove Pride Courage Award

**Jaycob Hayes** 

Trans Courage Award

Rachel Ruddy

Tower Grove Pride

Courage Award

Cole Hammett

Ty Bushnell

Rural Courage Award

Rural Courage Award

Ashland

St. Louis City

Kansas City



## Kearney

**Kyla Warman** Missouri Courage Award



Brandon Foley Pride St. Charles **Courage Award** 



**Teague McElroy** Springfield Missouri Courage Award



Ben Haug Brentwood Missouri Courage Award



**Gabriella Miesner** St. Louis Missouri Courage Award



**Requested Anonymity** Jefferson City **Rural Courage Award** 



**Rhys Timpe** Lake St. Louis Pride St. Charles Courage Award



**Alyssa Farrar** Troy Pride St. Charles Courage Award



Lyle Chafa Republic Trans Courage Award



**Jake Stotler** Salem **Rural Courage Award** (Founder's Award)



Kirksville