

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE

Contact: Missouri Courage Scholarship, Jacob I. Wilson

Jacob@courage-scholarship.org

515-313-3795

(St. Louis, Missouri – June 12, 2017) Missouri Courage Scholarship (MCS) is proud to announce the winners of our 2017 awards. Each year, MCS awards scholarships to high school seniors who demonstrate courage and take a stand for social justice. This year more than 180 students from 50 counties applied—a new record for MCS!

MCS awards three types of scholarships:

- The Missouri Courage Award (MCA) is awarded to high school seniors in Missouri who have demonstrated their commitment to work for change in their community that advances the lives of LGBTQ people or furthers other social justice causes.
- The Rural Courage Award (RCA) is intended for students residing in rural Missouri communities who meet the MCA scholarship qualifications.
- The Trans Courage Award (TCA) is intended for Missouri students who identify as transgender and who meet the MCA scholarship qualifications.

In addition to the above awards, this year MCS partnered with Pride St. Charles to award additional scholarships on behalf of their organization. We are thrilled to share the 2017 Courage Scholars:

Ty Bears, Rural Courage Award, West Nodaway High School, Elmo, MO
Alyssa Ershen, Pride St. Charles Award, St. Clair High School, St. Clair, MO
Jasmine Gallegos, Pride St. Charles Award, Troy Buchanan High School, Moscow Mills, MO
Nathaniel Hartman, Trans Courage Award, Hancock Place Senior High School, St. Louis, MO
Garrett Orr, Rural Courage Award, Doniphan High School, Doniphan, MO
Zac Ruffolo, Rural Courage Award, Boonville High School, Boonville, MO
Samantha Salas, Rural Courage Award, Monett High School, Monett, MO
Amber Schneider, Pride St. Charles Award, Winfield High School, Winfield, MO
Courage Scholar, Pride St. Charles Award, Orchard Farm High School, St. Charles, MO
Olivia Stevens, Missouri Courage Award, Hancock Place Senior High School, St. Louis, MO
Alex Williams, Trans Courage Award, Kirksville Senior High School, Kirksville, MO

Missouri Courage Scholarship is the first, and largest, state-wide LGBTQ scholarship organization in Missouri. Each year MCS acknowledges, affirms, and rewards students who demonstrate courage and take a stand for social justice. MCS is a 501c3 organization; all donations are tax deductible. Please visit our website at www.courage-scholarship.org for more information.

CONCRATULATIONS

TO THE 2017

COURAGE SCHOLARS

TY BEARS ALEX WILLIAMS AMBER SCHNEIDER **JASMINE GALLEGOS** NATHANIEL HARTMAN RURAL COURAGE AWARD TRANS COURAGE AWARD PRIDE ST. CHARLES AWARD PRIDE ST. CHARLES AWARD TRANS COURAGE AWARD From: Elmo, MO From: Kirksville, MO From: Winfield, MO From: Moscow Mills, MO From: St. Louis, MO HS: West Nodaway High HS: Kirksville Senior High HS: Winfield High School HS: Troy Buchanan High HS: Hancock Place Senior High **COURAGE SCHOLAR** PRIDE ST. CHARLES AWARD From: St. Charles, MO HS: Orchard Farm High It takes **MISSION COURAGE** acknowledge, affirm, to go against the grain, to take a stand who demonstrate for equality, and live courage and take a stand authentically in the **ZAC RUFFOLO SAMANTHA SALAS ALYSSA ERSHEN GARRETT ORR OLIVIA STEVENS** RURAL COURAGE AWARD PRIDE ST. CHARLES AWARD MISSOURI COURAGE AWARD **RURAL COURAGE AWARD** RURAL COURAGE AWARD From: Boonville, MO From: Monett, MO From: St. Clair, MO From: St. Louis, MO From: Doniphan, MO



HS: St. Clair High School

HS: Doniphan High School

HS: Boonville High School

HS: Monett High School

HS: Hancock Place Senior High